This year — 2023 — is special because November 1st will mark the 30th anniversary of the entry into force of the Maastricht Treaty which created Union Citizenship. This is an opportunity to think about the meaning of European Citizenship, what it has achieved so far, where it is today and its future prospects. A chance for lateral thinking and taking the long view.

The 8th Edition of the ECIT Annual Conference will take place on 31 October 2023, and, as last year, it will be held both at the Press Club in Brussels and remotely, with the aim of attracting — for this special anniversary year — a larger audience both on the spot and online. Our aim is that the Spanish Presidency should explain the original aims of their government in proposing Union Citizenship. A high-level panel of policy makers and writers should explain the past, and how this unique transnational citizenship came into being whilst attempting to assess its successes and failures. The main emphasis of the rest of the programme will be to allow participants more time in working groups to put forward proposals for the future development of European Citizenship and the Statute.

WHEN? All day on Tuesday 31st October, start of the conference at 9.00 a.m. CET time (10.00 a.m local time in Latvia).

HOW? Please fill in this registration form to inform, are You willing to participate in person or online, and You will receive the Zoom link by Friday 27 October.


Registration is open, register till 31st of October, 2023 by clicking here!

Conference programme, Draft declaration for the conference and ECIT Annual Conference Archives are available at THE OFFICIAL ECIT CONFERENCE web page:

Press here to visit the official ecit conference web page

The event is financed by Europe Union. NOTE stands for the “Network of Organizations and Towns for the European Elections”. It is an initiative  from 11 EU Member States in the framework of the programme CERV. We represent citizens, local governments and civil society organisations from: Italy, Romania, Bulgaria, Poland, Portugal, Croatia, Spain, Latvia, Lithuania, Belgium and Germany.

Follow us on the social media:

Views and opinions expressed however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the European Education and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA). Neither the European Uion or EACEA can be held responsible for them.