On 8-9 November in Usma the Kurzeme Planning Region together with its 10 UniGreen project partners (Aukštaitijos nacionalinis parkas, Biržų Regioninis Parkas, DURBE un Durbes novads, Kretingos rajono savivaldybė, Kuldīgas Novada Dome, Rojas novada pašvaldība, Saldus novada pašvaldība, Skrundas novada pašvaldība, Ventspils novada pašvaldība, Žemaitijos nacionalinis parkas) organised the project management meeting to discuss the progress made in the first period and to agree on the tasks for the second period.

Over the first period (May – October 2017) the work on all four project components has been commenced – project management, communication, nature access for all (infrastructure development activities) and competence raising and marketing.

Under the infrastructure development activities in Kurzeme, the reconstruction of the existing boardwalk and prolongation of the trail along the seaside in Roja beach has been carried out, the bird watching tower near Sātiņi ponds in Saldus county has been built and the newly constructed walking trail along Venta river banks in Skrunda has been opened. Under the infrastructure development activities in Lithuania, the improvement works at Jaurykla park in Kretinga and the reconstruction of the viewing platform near the Plateliai lake at Žemaitija National Park have started together with the preparation works for tourism infrastructure development to improve the accessibility for visitors to Kirkilai karstic lakes at Biržai Regional Park.

Under the competence raising and marketing meaures, 27 nature guides of Kurzeme Region have started the training, in October carrying out the first practical study visit to Žemaitija National Park in Lithuania to participate at the Conference “Accessible Nature Tourism” and visiting nature objects adapted for people with disabilities, the experience exchange visit to Lithuania for 25 tourism specialists of Kurzeme region took place on 27-28 September and the study visit to Finland for 34 tourism specialists and project participants from Latvia and Lithuania took place on 21-25 August. In addition, the Conference “Accessible Nature Tourism” was organised in Plateliai, Lithuania on 19-20 October with the participation of 80 tourism specialists, municipality, nature protected areas’ and non-governmental organisations’ representatives from Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Finland and Denmark in order to discuss and pay attention to challenges of tourism sector to adapt tourism infrastructur, products and services to people with disabilities.

Meeting presentations:

1. Progress in first period  (A. Lūse)

2. Activity schedule & delivery dates for Period 2 November 2017 – April 2018 (A. Lūse)

3. Visitor counters in project (A. Lūse)

Partners report’s on progress in project so far:

PP2 – Directorate of Aukštaitija National Park and Labanoras Regional Park (Ž. Mukulys)

PP3 – Directorate of Birzai Regional Park (D.Kondrotiene)

PP4 – Durbe County Municipality (S.Rozenšteina)

PP5 – Kretinga County Municpality (A.Abželtyte)

PP6 – Kuldiga County Municipality (A. Vanaga-Poriķe)

PP7 – Roja County Municipality (K.Voldemāre)

PP8 – Saldus County Municipality  (E.Jēkobsone)

PP9 – Skrundas County Municipality (Z.Eglīte)

PP10 – Ventspils County Municipality (G.Šķesters)

PP11 – Directorate of Žemaitija National Park (P.Mika)

The above reflects author’s views and the Managing Authority of Latvia-Lithuania Programme is not liable for any use that may be made of the information contained there in.

Information prepared by:
Alise Lūse,
UniGreen Project Manager
Kurzeme Planning Region
Tel.: + 371 26567874, alise.luse@kurzemesregions.lv

PP8 - Saldus County Municipality PP10 - Ventspils County Municipality PP11 - Directorate of Žemaitija National Park Visitor counters in project PP9 - Skrundas County Municipality Activity schedule & delivery dates for Period 2 November 2017 – April 2018 Progress in first period PP2 - Directorate of Aukštaitija National Park and Labanoras Regional Park PP3 - Directorate of Birzai Regional Park PP4 - Durbe County Municipality PP5 - Kretinga County Municpality PP6 - Kuldiga County Municipality PP7 - Roja County Municipality